You don't have javascript enabled. Please Enabled javascript for better performance.

Department of Science & Technology

The Department of Science & Technology, Government of Manipur was set up in January, 1985. This Department is the nodal agency in the State for planning, co-ordinating and promoting Science & Technology towards meaningful applications in various developmental programmes for achieving the socio-economic objectives of the State.

The Department was renamed as Dept. of Science, Technology & Environment (DSTE) and later as Department of Science & Technology and Information Technology w.e.f 10th July 2007 vide Govt. Order No. 2/9/2001-S&T.dtd 10th July 2007. Consequent to the creation of a new Department of Information Technology, Government of Manipur, vide
Govt Notification No.14/1/2008-CON dtd.5/9/2009, the Department has reverted to its original name of Department of Science & Technology.

The DST has nurtured and implemented the relevant schemes of the Environment sector and Information Technology sector over many years, after which the manpower and schemes were transferred to the newly created Ecology & Environment Wing under Forest Department and IT Department. Thus, the focus and activities of the Department have covered a wide spectrum beyond Science & Technology sector. The Department is implementing 2(two) Sub-sectors of the State Plan:
1. Scientific Research,
2. Integrated Rural Energy Programme (IREP)